turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Any advice for a Novice?

Started by GlockGirl, December 22, 2016, 07:59:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

GlockGirl

I am brand new to turkey hunting, or hunting at all for that matter. I am doing my best to learn as much as possible. I am very fortunate to have an AMAZING Mentor who has been teaching me to call so hopefully I will be somewhat ready for the spring. Do any of you have any advice for a Novice as to what I should be working on? What sounds, calls etc? Any advice is appreciated
Thanks

Bolandstrutters

Sounds like you are on the right track.  Do as much research as you can, there is endless information out there.  I would really concentrate on a basic hen yelp.  What kind of call have you been practicing with?  Also scouting and learning where turkeys want to be is equally as important.  You cant kill birds that arent there.

dejake

Best advice I can pass along is, 85% of turkey hunters call too much.  The hard part is figuring out when NOT to call.

guesswho

My advice is have fun and don't get discouraged.   Just starting out in today's times Its easy to become dependent on certain aides.   If that's what someone likes then more power to them.   As a newbie i'd recommend trying different styles and draw your own conclusions as to what you enjoy more.  For some of us there's nothing like sitting with your back to a tree with a call and gun/bow.   Others enjoy sitting in a blind watching turkeys come to decoys.   Choose what you find the most enjoyable and don't let internet hunters determine how you rate your success.  Always remember that most advice you get from the Internet is worth every penny you pay for it.
If I'm not back in five minutes, wait longer!
BodonkaDeke Prostaff
MoHo's Prostaff
Do unto others before others do unto you
Official Member Of The Unofficial Firedup Turkey
Calls Prostaff

GobbleNut