OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Say it aint so!

Started by deerbasshunter3, March 03, 2015, 07:37:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

deerbasshunter3

Today, a guy at work tried to tell me that #6 would not kill a bird past 40 yards. I am new to this sport, but that doesn't seem right to me. Now, I know the further out you shoot, the less likely it is to kill a turkey, but I find it hard to believe that Win LB 3" #6 will not kill a turkey at 50 yards. Maybe I am wrong, but that just didn't sound right to me.

vaturkey

Ya better not talk about shots over 40 yards cause you're gonna get put in TIMEOUT !
Vaturkey

WV Ridge Reaper

Lordy Lordy we can't talk about over 40 here!!!

But just to let you know your 100 percent right,I won't say how I know.

bbcoach

Go back and tell him #7 Hevi's and #9 TSS will kill turkeys at 40 yards and see what his reaction is?

DirtNap647

I gotta admit this no talk past 40 is for the birds man times change equipment gets better and better but as hunters we are still suppose to not shoot at 41 yds...? just don't understand this whole aspect if you don't want to talk about or shoot past 40 then why not move on and don't reply

obro

Several years ago they would talk about an individual pellets ability (ke) to break bone or kill a bird at a given distance . A number 6 lead pellet ( not heavy or tss) at the normal fps would lose that ke around the 40 yard mark . I'm not for or against the theory but it may be what he is referring to .

budtripp

I know for a fact (as I was watching) that a #6 lead pellet will penetrate a birds skull/vertabrae from 46 yards.  Actually, there were multiple ones that did so.  :funnyturkey:  And these were even the slower Winny xx loads.

BowBendr