turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Tough Season... so far

Started by kytrkyhntr, April 30, 2018, 07:00:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kytrkyhntr

Any fellow Kentucky hunters out there experiencing an abnormally tough year? I'm no pro by any means but man have I been humbled. Have hunted 4 counties on both private and public land. All gobblers that have been responsive have had 3-4 hens with them. Only have worked one bird successfully and I couldn't get a clean shot on him (public land!!) have hunted at least 1 morning or afternoon every day but 2 this season. Am I the only one? This has been the first warm period so hoping my luck changes with less than a week to go. Any fellow Kentuckians having the same issues?
don't let the truth get in the way of a good story

renegade19

Not sure where you are in Kentucky but the best turkey hunter I know has been blanked so far this year in Illinois and down in the LBL area.  I had great luck Illinois 1st season and have 5th season starting Thursday. 

kytrkyhntr

I was in the western part of the state in Logan county if you're familiar (somewhat LBL) and central Kentucky. It's been a tough go. Especially for a guy that took 6 vacation days to hunt and got skunked. Talk about a hard pill to swallow. Humbling season thus far to say the least. Good luck brother

squidd

Tag soup for me in FL if it helps how tough it is all over.

Four different WMAs and 12+ hunts with closest Tom at 100 yards.  Saw hens almost every hunt and can't say if it was Hurricane Irma, more predators, started early or more hunters that reduced the numbers?

3 of 4 WMAs I hunted reported less Turkeys with exception of one which had a 50% success rate increase; it went from four in 2017 to six this year.

Still discussing with the Mrs. for a DIY in Nebraska just to maybe redeem this season.

kytrkyhntr