turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Long/Paddle Box

Started by Rzrbac, March 01, 2017, 10:12:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rzrbac

I've noticed several people being fond of a longbox. I have never tried to play one so I have no experience at all. I have been listening to some sound files of various longboxes and I kind of liked the way they sound.

I have a few questions: 1. Is a long box and paddle box the same thing?
                                  2.  Are they easy to run, the sound files sound good and I own some boxes that are supposed to be good but I can still tell they are Box calls.
                                  3.  Who is a good call maker making longboxes and what wood combination are good for long boxes?

worth612000

Long box and paddle calls are the same. They are harder to carry afield unless you get a holster. You can get more sounds from a long box due to you can start at different locations and stop the paddle after the roll over. A short box is usually just one stroke that ends when the lid is closed. I think tuning by the maker is more important than wood combinations, but in general it the same as the short box combinations. Look on here and the same short box makers can make you a good long box. Hope this rambling helps a little.

Rzrbac

Sure does help. I've been Turkey hunting for 31 years and never got into calls much. Just always used mouth calls and recently started looking at other type calls. I don't think I need them to kill turkeys but I would like to expand my knowledge a bit.

Bowhuntr73

Be careful, acquiring calls is very addictive. These custom call makers make beautiful calls with each by their own style!!

Will

Jeff McKamey of Twisting Creek Calls makes an outstanding long box. I have Kwila/Butternut that's hard to beat.