turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Preseason Scouting

Started by Wood82, January 18, 2017, 06:05:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wood82

I am fairly new to turkey hunting and so far unsuccessful.I have never done any scouting and have only hunted small parcels of private land using the run and gun approach. I have been able to locate and call in a few birds, but it just hasn't worked out. I have thousands of acres of public land within a 10-15 drive from my house. I would like to scout before the spring season, but i am a bit overwhelmed with the amount of acreage to cover and what to look for. Any advice on where or what to look for, or when i should start scouting would be appreciated. I am located in Michigan and our season starts mid April.

Bowguy

There's some recent info in this section. Help the new folks its called. Sorry brother it's in the general section

Double B

Listen at daybreak starting about a month before season.  Don't go in too deep.   Public land parking areas and trailheads are good listening posts, especially if you know the lay of the land.  Don't call to the birds or even get real close. You may be able to glass from afar if it's open.  Generally I just like to hear who's in the neighborhood and which way they are heading after flydown.  Good luck!
Followed by buzzards

Farmboy27

Try looking at those thousands of acres as a lot of separate smaller areas. Concentrate on one and get to know the lay of it and the hunting potential in it before moving on. Kinda like farming. Looking at the whole farm in planting or harvest season can make you feel like you'll never get done. But you take it one field at a time and it's all good!

Indianayounggun