OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

age and career change...2 questions

Started by fallhnt, March 03, 2016, 09:28:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fallhnt

I've been a ASE master certified Tech at a GM dealer for over 30 years. My only benefit is I work hard and make a good living. My wife has insurance and other family health care benefits for us. Well, I tested and interviewed for a union job in the elevator trade and my number has come up. I talked to a friend who has worked  in that trade for over 30 yrs. and he told me that with my work ethic that I would be working as long as I wanted. Fine by me. PRO's...Benefits, pay and my wife could stop working in about 5 years. Cons...Close to a 5 year apprenticeship program and I would be on the high end of 50 when done with the program. Has anybody been through a job change late in life and have any thoughts? How do I know GOD wants me there?
When I turkey hunt I use a DSD decoy

wmn2

First of all, I commend you for seeking where God wants you. I'd pray about it and let Him take you where you need to go.

I'm only 28, so I haven't done a career change later in life, but I am finishing up college now with a degree in business. I've been in the automotive industry for 8 years, with supervision being 7 of those 8. I make a great living, enough to where my wife can be a stay at home mom for our 4 kids and we struggle at times, but for the most part we are in a good place financially.