turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Using trail cameras in the spring.

Started by deerbasshunter3, December 02, 2015, 08:04:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

deerbasshunter3

Am I wasting my time putting up a few trail cameras a little bit before spring hunting season, or can it be beneficial? I feel like wherever I may find the birds in February or March will no longer be productive come the opener, which I think is now the last week in March.

sonofabuck

My cameras have a plot watcher feature that takes a photo at intervals that I can change.  I set 4 cameras up on food plots.  Check them the day before season to see where they've been strutting the most and at what times.  Sounds like a slam dunk right?  I've been doing this for 2 years and it hasn't really paid off yet.  :z-dizzy: :goofball: 

silvestris

The only downsides would be a possible loss of time and money and a loss of confidence in an area that holds birds that didn't get their picture taken.
"[T]he changing environment will someday be totally and irrevocably unsuitable for the wild turkey.  Unless mankind precedes the birds in extinction, we probably will not be hunting turkeys for too much longer."  Ken Morgan, "Turkey Hunting, A One Man Game

FL-Boss

If you have the camera.. run it. It's doing no good just sitting in the house. I run 5 cameras.. all year.. they never turn off. 

davisd9

Sc private land starts March 20 this year, WMA stays April 1. Cameras can he give you patterns. Birds where in this spot at this time and so on. Of course nothing is definite.

Sent from the Strut Zone
"A turkey hen speaks when she needs to speak, and says what she needs to say, when she needs to say it. So every word a turkey speaks is for a reason." - Rev Zach Farmer

wvlimbhanger