OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

835 Longbeard XR #6

Started by GT623, February 01, 2014, 01:57:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GT623

This is my first time patterning a shotgun. I've been reading as many patterning threads as I could in the last couple of weeks and doing lots of research.

Mossberg 835 24" barrel
Jellyhead .690
3 1/2" win Longbeard #6
40 yards. 60*
First was 181, second 158. Then I shot about 10 more times with different loads and finished up with another XR and it shot 126. Is the drop off due to the buildup in the barrel from all the shots?  Is it worth trying an SSX choke? I can get one locally pretty cheap.

chatterbox

Fantastic patterns!
I would say the drop off is due to the barrel being dirty, and if it were me, I would keep the JH, limit my shots to 40 yards and under, and hunt!
Well done! :icon_thumright:

drum817

My best "Guess" is that if you went down to the .675 range on your choke your pattern would be even better,  But that will kill birds all day.  :icon_thumright:
"Freedom Has Never Been Free"

drum817

....also keep that barrel clean in between shots.  Invest in a "bore snake".   :icon_thumright:
"Freedom Has Never Been Free"

SCDieselDawg

Quote from: drum817 on February 01, 2014, 02:06:01 PM
....also keep that barrel clean in between shots.  Invest in a "bore snake".   :icon_thumright:

X2

Put a little elbow grease into cleaning your barrel. Mossbergs are notorious for leaving the factory dirty and in need of a good scrubbing. Also shoot your setup at 20yds those LongBeards stay together a little longer than most shells.

Your patterns are more than enough to kill a turkey out to 40 yds. If you want a tighter pattern try a SSX or Indian Creek choke!

GT623

Here is a 20 yard shot.