turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Field bird and woods bird

Started by OLE RASPY, May 27, 2012, 08:25:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

OLE RASPY

Why do people classify it as these kind of birds.Ive been hunting turks for 15 years and heard this several times and yet can distinquish them. Every bird to my knowledge roost in the woods or at the edge in a tree.All birds will pilfer around in the woods and field.Im confused. ??? ???

VaTuRkStOmPeR

Some birds populate areas that have limited to no agriculture, hence timber turkeys.

Some birds populate areas with expansive agricultural fields and subsequently spend a majority of their time foraging and loafing within them, hence field turkeys.

The birds are the same, however, the impacts of their lifestyles within those respective habitats often has a significant impact on their beard and spur lengths.  The way they utilize those habitats are also different and consequently hunting techniques are not identical.

guesswho

Woods are nothing more than fields with tree's. ;D 

Around here when you here people talk about field turkeys or woods turkeys, they are talking about where they encounter the bird or where they plan to hunt the birds.  Some people prefer to hunt them in the woods, others prefer fields.  Both have their advantages. 
If I'm not back in five minutes, wait longer!
BodonkaDeke Prostaff
MoHo's Prostaff
Do unto others before others do unto you
Official Member Of The Unofficial Firedup Turkey
Calls Prostaff

OLE RASPY

Quote from: guesswho on May 27, 2012, 09:38:38 PM
Woods are nothing more than fields with tree's. ;D 

Around here when you here people talk about field turkeys or woods turkeys, they are talking about where they encounter the bird or where they plan to hunt the birds.  Some people prefer to hunt them in the woods, others prefer fields.  Both have their advantages.