OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

New hunter with gun questions

Started by Jgspahn, January 12, 2012, 12:20:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jgspahn

Hello fellow hunters,

Im new to the turkey game, but im hooked already. My first ever season was last year. I saw a few birds, but no kills. Last year I lugged around a super long barreled model 12 2 3/4 12 ga. I didnt want to run out and buy something unless I was sure I was going to make this stick. I love it and Im addicted.

Ok, on to my actual question. Im looking into buying a gun for turkey season. I really like this one:

http://www.remington.com/products/firearms/shotguns/model-870/model-870-express-shurshot-synthetic-turkey.aspx

or

http://www.remington.com/products/firearms/shotguns/model-870/model-870-sps-synthetic-turkey.aspx

Now, I do know some about guns, but im no expert by any means. Those guns seem like they would be sufficient, and im really intrigued by the thumb hole stocks for manuevering the gun around. What do yall think about this? Also, 21" seems awfully short, will I lose maximum kill distance with a barrel that short?

All info and opinions are welcome, and thanks in advance.

West Augusta

Stick a .665 JellyHead choke on either of those and you will be in business.  Bonafied turkey killer.
No trees were hurt in the sending of this message, however a large number of electrons were highly inconvenienced.

allaboutshooting

First of all, welcome to OG. There are lots of folks here who will give you the best information they have to try to be of help to you. It's a good place.

The 870 is just a hard gun to beat. I own and shoot several both for hunting and in still target shooting competition.