OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

This Thing We Do....the good, the bad and the ugly

Started by eggshell, July 21, 2024, 06:42:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

eggshell

It's that time of year where we reflect, debate, hope and plan. We don't have a lot of hunting to post about so I thought I'd take a few minutes and share some thoughts about this thing we do called turkey hunting. Having done it from it's infancy in my region and for 52 plus years, I think perhaps I can share some perspective on the full experience.

Turkey hunting has brought me the full gambit of feelings. From joy to peace, to excitement, to anger to frustration. It has saved my life and almost literally cost me my life. I have made it an idol and  my healing balm, and I realized it's just not that important.

In the early days as a novice I was in it for nothing more than a new experience. My first encounters was so extraordinary they were like a drug, I had found my magic mushroom and I was hooked. I set about determined to learn everything possible about hunting these bastards of the woods. I had hunted many animals but none of them built a fire in my gut like this loud mouthed devil of the hills. The very experience of having a conversation with him was like walking into a fantasy. I took countless butt kickings and it seemed I would never win a one on one match, but I did. The very first time I looked down the gun barrel at a gobbler I thought my heart would burst and I couldn't hold my gun still. I was so nervous I could not even write my name. Pure adrenaline ravaged my body and mind. If there was a drug better than this I doubted it.