turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

I did something 99% of you have not

Started by WV Flopper, April 09, 2023, 06:48:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

WV Flopper

And if your in my 1% with me, I am sorry for you. Here is how it goes.

Yesterday I get out of the truck at 541 start walking up the hill and here an owl, its still pretty dark. The third time he gives a hoooo a turkey gobbles right where they have been for the last 12 years. I just keep walking. I know where to go.

Turkey gobbles good at the owl, chickens, dogs, whatever, he is proud of himself. "He did sound good." I slide up behind him and get seated and wait.

It finally gets to a point I feel safe to let out a couple soft calls and shut up. I see him fly down right below the crest in the ridge between us, as they have many times.

My gun is trained to the right beyond where I anticipate his presence to be made and wait. I am ready. I am studying for any movement on the crest above where he pitched out and just can't make him out. 5 minutes-10 minutes maybe, tic, 90 degrees to my right. I very slower turn my head with my eyes looking at the side of my skull and my nose and see him standing there, 13yards, strutting.

I am pinned down tight and don't move, he made a great decision and went to his left, my right, behind me. I let him go turning my head as he went. When he strutted I turned but didn't do the best of jobs. He came out of strut and I flat out missed him.

I am going to fast forwarded from the miss to this morning.

So, I arrive 5 minutes earlier this morning and start walking. I get right to the bottom of the ridge they like and he gobbles, same spot as yesterday. It's dark.