turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

big pigs

Started by Southerngobbler, November 25, 2021, 06:07:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Southerngobbler

Been bow hunting for the last 30 days but went out this morning with a rifle. Some pigs come by and I have the worst luck judging their weight. I'm getting where I don't want to shoot one over 80 Lbs. They're kinda far off and I let some lead fly and ended up getting a huge boar, I guess he was harassing some sows cuz there was a group of them. This is about the 3rd one I've shot like this, way too big, instead of ground shrinkage they git bigger and bigger. So it turned into a 3 hour deal, getting it out and all, luckily my buddy has stashed a game cart in the woods close by,  He had a lot of fat on him and might be ok to eat, sometimes the big ones are just fine, if not my dogs have to eat to.

Happy

I have no experience with wild hogs other than eating one but if he has some fat on him is sausage an option?

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

Good-Looking and Platinum member of the Elitist Club

Southerngobbler

yep, if the meats not rank, and it didn't smell that way it will make great sausage. I will make a small batch and try it before I go too far. Some hog fat is great eating and some isn't. I'll let it mellow in the ice chest for a few days and give it a try.

Sixes

That's a good hog. It's dead.

I'm one of those that will not mess with a hog other than killing it and I will shoot boars, shoats, sows with piglets and the piglets and not think twice about it.

I know a lot of folks don't like hunters that "waste" game, but hogs are not game where I hunt, they are a nuisance.

But, congrats on your hog!

silvestris

Hogs are not game; they are vermin.  Kill them all.