OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Homemade pattern board ideas?

Started by kdsberman, April 16, 2020, 12:25:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kdsberman

Hey guys, wondering if anyone would mind posting a picture of a homemade pattern board/stand they built that works for them.  The one I've been using, which is store bought, has started to become more of a pain than anything and am thinking of just building something.

I appreciate it, thanks guys.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Timmer

I have some experience playing around with stands that would hold a 36" role of plotter paper at the top.  I really love that I can tear the used portion and pull down to unroll a fresh section.  After having made 2 conceptual stands out of PVC I turned to wood for the final product.  I haven't taken it out this year but will this weekend and will try to take some pictures. 

Off the top of my head, it's probably 40" wide (fits 36" plotter paper) by 60" high (to get it off the ground).  I used treated decking material as it was relatively cheap and I didn't have to worry about sanding it.  About a foot up I have a piece of wood horizontally for stability, and it's also where I fasten the bottom of the paper using spring clamps. I built short arms off the back with a dowel across and pins to hold the paper roll.  You pull the paper up over the front and use spring clamps to hold it in place at the top.  With it clamped at the top and bottom it's all nice and taut.  Then I made perpendicular legs that are also held with pins.  When not in use I move the legs  up vertically on each side and attache them with the pins so they are out of the way.
Timmer

All of the tools, some of the skills!

Bowguy