turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Hevi 13 question

Started by Old Timer, March 20, 2020, 10:22:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Old Timer

I have been reading comments hevi 13 isnt what it use to be. Since I have no experience with  it and before I try it what does that mean? I would like some info before I buy. 

Dtrkyman

They have been known to change their loads resulting in a change of performance from previous loads that are marked the same.

Try them, if they give you the patterns you want buy a bunch from the same lot#

Years ago they had a clear white hull that was roll crimped, the performance from those was outstanding and in my gun the 3 inch 1 5/8th Oz patterned better than anything else including 3.5 inch versions. And they were very low recoil! They discontinued that round and I went to winchester extended range, winchester discontinued that round and when I starting running low I switched to handloads in a 20ga!

Marc

Original Hevi-Shot was about 12 g/cc (just a tad more dense than lead at about 1 g/cc).

Hevi-Shot 13 was touted to be at 13 g/cc when it first came out, and now (as far as I know) it is at the same density of original Hevi-Shot at 12 g/cc...  No big announcements were ever made that this happened.

Environmental Metals has put out some great products, but have used some really sketchy marketing (such as keeping the name on the Hevi-Shot 13 after changing the density for which it was named).

Years ago, they came out with a product called Hevi-Steel for waterfowl hunting (a steel tungsten composite).  Denser than steel, but not as dense as lead, and it was considerably cheaper than Hevi-Shot.  At the same time they made Hevi-Shot Duck and Hevi-Shot Goose which were both considerably more expensive than Hevi-Steel.