Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Do fall turkeys smell and taste bad compared to spring?

Started by Magdump, January 16, 2020, 06:55:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Magdump

So let me state right up front that i am still kinda new to turkey hunting so please bear with me as i am still learning a lot very fast.

So last fall i hunted at a friends farm having never hunted fall birds before.  I tried to find a flock to charge into and then call back in but no luck finding any birds like that. 

But it worked out anyway because Steve (my farmer friend) had a cow die in a field and he called me and let me know that the turkeys were working it over pretty hard.   I thought that was weird as everything i had read and researched said turkeys ate bugs and seeds and whatnot, not animals.  What do i know, i am a beginner still.

Anyhow, i set up next morning before sunrise in the edge of the woods about 30 yards from the dead milker.   Sunrise comes and sure enough, here come the turkeys.  Circling lower and lower.  I was so excited but made myself wait until one was on the ground so i would get a good clean shot.

Well, finally a big hen (no beard or spurs that i could see) landed and started eating the cow.  I made a great shot, it tipped over and the rest scattered.

When i examined it, it seemed about what i would imagine a hen should be in size but holy cow did it smell bad!  I think it was one of those melanistic turkeys because she was a bit darker than the hen pictures i have seen on the internet. 

Anyway, checked it in, tagged it and took it home and the smell when i dressed it out almost killed me!  Worse, it smelled awful in the oven and tasted even worse!

Got pretty sick after eating what little i could choke down too.

Is this a normal thing for fall turkeys or was my hen diseased or something?