OG shop member gallery
OldGobbler
          bullet Forum Board      bullet Pushpin Turkey Call Blog      bullet Advertising Info     

OG Gear Store
PATCHES

Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Author Topic: Cheapest ammo to get comfortable with firearm  (Read 2928 times)

Offline Skibbs

Cheapest ammo to get comfortable with firearm
« on: December 20, 2019, 02:59:45 PM »
Bought my first shotgun - Mossberg 500 12ga with 20" barrel to use for turkeys. I am new to hunting and shotguns, this is my first one. I already know what choke and ammo I plan to start patterning with when the time comes but I want to become more familiar with the shotgun first and put some time in just getting comfortable firing it --- what ammo would you recommend that would get this job done? Thanks for your help.

Offline tnanh

• The Boss Gobbler
Re: Cheapest ammo to get comfortable with firearm
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2019, 03:22:29 PM »
Cheap dove ammo will accomplish that. Also repetition is key when training with any firearm. Go dove hunting, rabbit hunting, or shoot skeet with it some. Use it like any other non turkey dedicated gun and you will get used to the gun. Also the dove loads will help break the barrel and trigger in and if you clean it well will help it pattern better in the future.

Offline LaLongbeard

• Double Beard
  • Louisiana
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2020, 07:06:02 PM »
Yep dove loads. Walmart usually has them dirt cheap after hunting season.
If you make everything easy how do you know when your good at anything?

Offline Harty

• 2024 SITE SUPPORTER
  • The Boss Gobbler
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2020, 02:20:12 PM »