OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Turkey subspecies question

Started by Cluckpurrkee, April 15, 2019, 10:37:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cluckpurrkee

Ok guys, I'm seeking to clarify a question about a presumed turkey subspecies.  I'm a novice turkey hunter, and have taken my wife with me several times, in order to have some quality time with her.  She and her girl friend were talking about this rather large gobbler we've got our sights set on.  He has quite the beard on him.  It's a ground dragged. The confusion stems from a comment my wife's friend made to her, and what I'm missing here.  They were chuckling because her friend said something about it being a big Mandingo (spelling?) gobbler and she told my wife she of all people should have no problem calling him in.  I guess I'm missing an inside joke, because my searches turned up nothing to do with any type of turkey or anything hunting related let's just say.  Any attempts seeking clarification with them only resulted in them changing the subject and continuing to laugh and trade looks.  What am I missing? ...help a guy out here.

Tomfoolery

Maybe mandingo was the nickname for a gobbler she bagged in the past?? :popcorn: :TrainWreck1:

Sir-diealot

I have a suspicion it is a off color joke referring to the length of the beard and length of lets just say the male member. Looked up the slang, I will not print it here but if you want to read it for yourself here is the link. https://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Mandingo
Strength does not come from winning. Your struggles develop your strengths. When you go through hardships and decide not to surrender, that is strength. Arnold Schwarzenegger

John Koenig:
"It's better to live as your own man, than as a fool in someone else's dream."

fallhnt

Watch ROOTS

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk