turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Please get yourself a...

Started by Rzrbac, April 02, 2019, 01:01:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rzrbac

I would like to urge those who are perhaps a little bored with the ease of turkey calls.  I have been calling in and killing gobblers for 30 years with mouthcalls.  I don't want to come across as cocky, I learned to use them because I was poor and it was all I could afford. 

Today I received a trumpet from Mr. Brian Mero and it has renewed my interest in calling turkeys. Out of the box I'm just good enough to produce a string or two of good yelps. It's challenging but I believe this call will bring in gobblers once I fully grasp its potential. 

I have read a lot about trumpets and seen a lot of members zeal for such a call. It made me kick around the idea for a few years and I finally pulled the trigger on what I think will be an integral piece of my arsenal. 

I have less than two weeks to get proficient on this call before MO's opener. It's gonna be a challenge but I believe it's doable. I'm reminded of when I was a kid using my first mouth call and listening to a copied cassette of Ben Lee.

Thank you to all the members of Spur Collectors and Mr. Brian Mero. I won't go into details of what I've had going on personally but receiving this call and the challenge of learning to run it has been a welcome break from personal issues. Thanks to all, hope to do you guys right come opening day.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

coyote1

That's a sweet looking trumpet!  I would say that you have a good chance of being ready to hunt in 2 weeks with daily practice. Half the battle is making the first sound on it and you are already past that hurdle.