OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

What Rain gear do y’all like?

Started by Nidanation, March 17, 2018, 08:41:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nidanation

Was going through all my hunting gear and realized I hadn't wore my rain gear in awhile. When I tried it on I remembered I purchased the suit when I was a freshman in high school and it no longer fit. So I was wondering what are you guys wearing or liking these days? I'd like the suit to be lightweight and compact so I can throw in my turkeyvest or deer back pack and be able to throw it on when the rain comes.

Sixes

Cabelas packable, it folds up and is stored in it's own pocket

strut-n-rut

IdahoMountainGobble

Cabela's Dry plus pant, KUIU Chugach rain jacket. Essential out here.

Rzrbac

I have cheap Frog Toggs packed for mountains. In southern MO I don't wear anything. I keep walking whether it's raining or not and usually sweating a lot so I just don't see a need for it. In the mountains I usually hunker down as it seems like the rain passes quickly out west.

Kylongspur88

For spring turkey a $20 dollar camo poncho and one of those screw in umbrellas are the ticket. The poncho is super light and keeps me, my vest, and even gun dry. If you put a hole in it camo duck tape is the fix and if you really rip it it's cheap to replace.

howl

Usually it isn't cold enough. Might as well get wet from rain instead of sweat. When it's cold enough, I use an oilskin duck hunting jacket and some Cabelas goretex pullover pants or other insulated camo that has a waterproof membrane.

mgm1955

MShillhunter

I've had the Cabelas 4-Most Dry Plus for two years and have zero complaints.  Cabelas makes a great product.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Marc

I am a waterfowl hunter, and have gotten tired of being wet and uncomfortable when it rains...