OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Shooting Sticks

Started by Rzrbac, April 16, 2017, 06:42:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rzrbac

Anybody use a shooting stick for turkey hunting.  I have been using one for several years after shattering my left elbow and having it reconstructed twice. 

I have cheap one that has 3 joints that telescope. It fits in my easy enough.  I feel like it has helped me quite a bit over the years as my left arm is not as functional as it was prior to my injury.

For those that use them, what kind are you using and what are the pros and cons you have experienced.

2eagles

Mines a Primos that grows and gets shorter by squeezing a handle. It works well in my blind if I take it along, but it is more thing to carry. It is too long to use if I'm sitting in my gobbler lounger or on the ground, but then I rest my gun on my knee.

Bowguy

We use them on the disabled vet, youth n women in outdoors events at the refuge. I'm not sure the type but they help. I can't be personally bothered carrying them. I've got enough already but could see how it might help

coonhunter

I use a set for my little boy.  I made them out of old tobacco sticks "cut down to length".  Drilled a hole 4" down from top and bolted them together so the scissor apart.  Then you just lay the gun in the "V".  Narrower if you need them taller and wider if you need them shorter.  Don't have a dime in them!  Work great!

Joshua 24:15

MK M GOBL

I have a few, from a Primos Short Tripod Trigger Stick, a couple of Bog Pod Tripods and then a Caldwell Tree Pod that we made a mod to.

They all have there place, in the blind, on the ground or need on to totally hold the gun.

MK M GOBL

Number17

I've been using them for years. No idea what the brand is, but the legs twist and telescope to length with a deep "v" notch at the top.