Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

To The Victor Goes The Spoils

Started by Tennessee Lead, April 08, 2017, 09:51:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tennessee Lead

Today started off quite again and it's really puzzling me.
I tried something I'm not good at, that's just sitting for longer periods of time.
Since nothing gobbled on the roost I just stayed put in my listening perch and called a couple times.
After 45 minutes I couldn't take it so I eased farther out the ridge and set up again. I stayed for awhile and called some again.
Still haven't heard a bird so I decided to make my way to the spot I called in the first silent bird last Saturday.
I picked a different tree this time and got set up and called rather aggressive trying to fire one up.
I could barely hear the back end of a Gobble when I would stop calling.
I had a idea that the bird was in the bottom I was trying to pull one from last Saturday.
I tore out and got to top of the last ridge and called.
Immediately got an answer in the bottom of a different property and another on a ridge I had just passed by.
I can't set up on that bird on the ridge because our side is too narrow there.
I decided to try the bird who had been answering me that was in the bottom and he was a long way off.
It didn't take but two series on the Double Glass and he was heading my way. I'm set up just like last week where the bird can come from the other property across the line. After a little silence I was afraid to reach for my call and use it because I didn't know how close he had got.
I scratched in the leaves and he hammered. He was still 150 yards or so. Wasn't long I could hear him drumming and I could see him out the ridge briefly 125 yards strutting. Back and forth back and forth.
When he would go away I would call on my Mouth call he would answer every time and come back. I'd then scratch leaves.
This went on for 45 minutes starting at 9:00.