OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Win 1300 Choke recommendation

Started by UpperTully, March 16, 2017, 02:18:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

UpperTully

This is my first year shooting a 20ga since I don't feel up to lugging around my ole A5 this year. So I've cleaned up my Winchester 1300 28", and picked up some 3" Federal HW 1.5oz #7's today. I'm looking for input on a good choke for this gun that isn't breaking the bank. I'm also interested in hearing from others who are shooting a similar setup on what to expect with patterns, range and any advice since I'm new to shooting a 20ga for turkeys.

Thanks in advance!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

sevetts

I have a short barreled 1300, I've got a bunch of patterns on here with that gun over the years. Buy you a carlson extended non ported in 575 and kill turkeys as far as you need to. You won't beat it for under $30. Your 1300 will shoot well, but make sure it's shooting to poa, that's the hardest part with 1300s it seems. Good luck

UpperTully

I was looking at the Carlson ext non ported and was sure which would be better, the 575 or the 565

Could you elaborate what you mean make sure it shoots POA? What do I do if it doesn't? Rifled sights?

sevetts