OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Wanted to get opinions

Started by Volgobbler, January 22, 2017, 04:09:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Volgobbler

I hunt a small property,  about  30 acres. Half is woods and one large field. I've been hunting for 3 years and it's always had beans in the field. Last year had 22 turkeys on my camera at one time in February.  Ended up taking a nice Tom opening morning. This year I have only seen turkeys one time on camera since November.  The field was in cotton this year so I'm thinking that has a lot to do with so few turkeys. A couple of  guys who have been hunting for years tell me not to worry, that they will be there eventually when hens start dispersing.  What do you guys think?

Dr Juice

I would agree with them if the field provided a good food source. Otherwise, they may use it as a corridor to get to where they want to be. Just my $0.02. Good luck.

Greg Massey

Gobbler like to skirt around those field edges looking for hens ...

dirt road ninja

I would think you will see a decrease in activity.

Bowguy

I agree w dirt road ninja. 30 acres unfortunately isn't a lot. Without food they want or if the crops/grass get too high where you're hunting the birds won't frequent the area as much.
Do yourself a favor n check back but at the same time find other birds in case you need them.

guesswho

They won't be far.   if there's a good population of turkeys in the area I'd feel confident hunting the 30 acres.  Turkeys are like people.  Not everyone is allowed access to prime real estate.   Some have to take what they can get.  So I'd bet at least one gobbler will be checking that 30 acres from time to time, especially if he hears a hen.
If I'm not back in five minutes, wait longer!
BodonkaDeke Prostaff
MoHo's Prostaff
Do unto others before others do unto you