turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Benelli SBE Turkey Gun Reviews

Started by mike103, December 15, 2016, 05:57:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mike103

I am trying to down size my gun collection and at the same time buy the best firearm for each type of hunting and shooting.

So to that end I'm thinking for selling five Remington turkey guns and buying the Benelli.

Who has experience with the Benelli including the performance shop version.

Thanks in advance, Mike.

allaboutshooting

I've been shooting Benelli shotguns since 1991 when I purchased my first SBE. I've had several over the years and still own several. They've all been excellent shotguns, never failing to perform. I still have my original SBE and it's had thousands of shells through it over the years. It just works time after time. My real favorite is the Vinci. It's just so light and has less muzzle climb than any shotgun I've ever shot.

Rob Roberts does a a great job on the "performance shop" guns. He tweaks them in some important places to make them just a bit smoother and checks each of them for the best patterns with a given choke tube. He does good work, as evidenced by the popularity of those guns.

Lastly, it's been my experience that Benelli shotguns pattern exceptionally well, when you have the correct choke/shell and you learn exactly what your particular gun "likes" in the way of bore cleanliness. Some of mine like to be squeaky clean and others like to be slightly fouled. None like to be exceptionally dirty. They will still shoot but patterns degrade.

There are lots of good guns out there and many choices. Good luck in your quest.

Thanks,
Clark
"If he's out of range, it just means he has another day and so do you."

VaTuRkStOmPeR

Personally, I've never seen any empirical data to support the idea that Benelli makes the best turkey gun out there.  Furthermore, how does one define "the best"?