turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

NM Merriams..Best tips ??

Started by Texforce, April 13, 2016, 10:35:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Texforce

It looks as though I might get to make a trip around Albuquerque to hunt Merriams. I'm pretty fired up about this opportunity !! I have lots of experience w/Rios, but none w/Merriams. I'm looking for tips on any of the differences I might experience w/the Merriams. My Rio hunting typically consists of getting him to gobble - then allowing him to hunt me, instead of calling a bunch to him. Would I treat a gobbling Merriams the same way, or stay on him and keep him gobbling?? Thanks for any input. It will be greatly appreciated.  Good Huntin' 

WisTurk

I'll be watching this one too as I'm heading out to SD next month to try my luck at a Merriams for the first time.  I've only hunted easterns so far myself, and they can be rather finicky depending on the day.

jims

Where I hunt merriams in Colo there is gobs of country with few turkeys.  It's a matter of covering lots of country to find the few that exist.   Where I live on the Front Range in Colo the mountain merriams are often in the ponderosa zone...and that's generally where they roost.

From my understanding...rios are considered river bottom birds.  The rios I've hunted in Nebraska can often be found in the same roost trees night after night.  I'm not sure the same is true with merriams?  Obviously behavior and location often change from one end of the season to the other with both species.

hobbes