OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Aging a bird

Started by g8rvet, March 30, 2016, 06:33:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

g8rvet

North Florida - Eastern.

Age?

10" beard, not real thick.  1" spurs with slight curve and pointed tip.  Full size, but not super heavy for our area. 

I looked up aging birds in several places, but wondered what y'all would call this bird, age wise.
Psalms 118v24: This is the day which the Lord hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.

fallhnt

When I turkey hunt I use a DSD decoy

snapper1982

Mature and that is the best you can call him without following him from hatch.

WAGinVA

I agree with both previous responses.  Based on the description turkey is very likely to be at least a 3yo.  After 3 years it is anybody's guess.

RutnNStrutn

I'm far from an expert, but from what I know of Easterns, their spurs don't grow as fast as Osceola spurs do. With that said, I'll go with a 3 year old.

Greg Massey

I agree with all the others.. 2 1/2 year old maybe a 3

Dr Juice

It ain't getting any older :-)

davisd9

Take the beard and look at it with a light behind it. If it is amber then two yr old, if not then 3+. All you can know for sure.

Sent from the Strut Zone
"A turkey hen speaks when she needs to speak, and says what she needs to say, when she needs to say it. So every word a turkey speaks is for a reason." - Rev Zach Farmer

davisd9

Quote from: Treerooster on March 30, 2016, 07:19:19 PM
What do the tips of his beard look like.

A 2 year old will not have worn all his original tips off and they will be an amber or reddish color. A 3 year old will have worn all the tips off by now and there won't be a different color. You may have to hold the beard up to good light to see the difference in color.

Should have read all the post before replying. This is what I was saying as well.