Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

how do you go about scouting a new area?

Started by new2turkey, March 15, 2016, 08:20:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

new2turkey

hi guys, i'm a novice hunter, eager to get after the birds this year.... With that being said I'm hunting southern Maine, and being on my own starting out my knowledge of good hunting spots is very limited.... There are tons of woods out here and you can hunt anything that isn't posted, i just don't know if the spots I've been scouting hold birds. So what do you do when trying to find new areas not knowing if there are birds there or not?

thanks,

Nick

bmhern

If I don't know an area the first thing I do is track the roads, you can learn where they are moving, when they are moving, and what is moving. Just a good way to start.

cornfedkiller

Greg Massey

I started last year using trail cam. before our deer season and have come to really like using them. i'v been running 5 cam on my hunting properties and last week i pull the cards with a lot of turkey pictures on the cam. I did some road looking and found several tracks etc. I don't like to make a lot of trips looking for turkeys were i'm hunting because i don't want to bump the birds a lot..I will go early some morning and just listen from some high points off the main roads on my hunting properties. Good luck this year..

chcltlabz

There's a few ways I go about it.  Areas I hunt are different than Maine for sure, and I'm hunting public land spots, sometimes quite a ways from home.