OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

My 2016 Season Log--Update 4/24

Started by Drthorn, March 06, 2016, 02:35:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Drthorn

It's that time of year again and I want to start a thread keeping up to date posts on what's going on in my neck of the woods and how my season is going.  I have a big season planned as I will be hunting not only my own state of KY, but will also be traveling to Oklahoma to hunt some rios, in which I have never done before.

Today, I "officially" started my turkey scouting and went out to put out my camera and look for turkey sign, and yes, turkeys. I was definitely happy with what I saw. As soon as I got out of the truck there were 32 (give or take) turkeys out in the corn field meddling around. Three of which I could see very good beards swaying from their chest. There was also a white hen i the mix and a few jakes (the best I could tell). I also saw many, many turkey tracks and droppings from the pond and down one of the fence rows separating the two picked corn fields. I put my camera on the fence post that had a lot of turkey tracks and droppings in front in hopes of getting some nice pics of the turkeys as they travel by.

Since I know the turkeys are there, I probably won't check the camera too much, as to not mess with their routine. I can do some far off scouting with the binos, so I'll probably do that later on next week and possibly try to video some.

I am extremely pumped for this upcoming season. April can not get here soon enough. Feel free to post things from your area and we can compare turkey behavior and hopefully help each other out tagging out this Spring!

AC HAMMER