News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

How close is too close to a roost?

Started by Gutsdozer, May 03, 2014, 09:48:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gutsdozer

Hello,

My first post here and a search didn't yield much. I could have just missed it too. This is my first year turkey hunting and I have to really make time to do it. Raising a family and a hectic job and all. Turns out tomorrow I will have all day (well most of a day anyway) to hunt an area that I only have a general idea of where the birds are.

I've been to this location already and they seem to like to gather in a low laying area that is a little bit isolated but not hard to get to. However, I'm going in blind really. My questions are if the birds are roosted in the area I think they will be is it a good idea to just set up in the area I mentioned that they seem to like to gather in or just keep hitting the owl call until I hear something elsewhere? Also, how close can you get to a roost without spooking them? It is a public hunting area so it's almost a race sometimes to get to a good spot and then you have to hope somebody doesn't walk right into your setup.

Unfortunately we are at about the half way point in the season here and I'm starting to worry I won't even get close to a tom or a jake for that matter. I did have a big tom run across the road as i was leaving the other day...I swear he paused and gave me the middle feather and took off again...Right now I'm using a strutting jake and a couple cheap hen decoys. I have a regular jake decoy in the bag also.

any help and advice is appreciated.

howl