turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Questions from a noob

Started by gspn, April 07, 2014, 12:33:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gspn

I went turkey hunting this weekend.  I'm really new to this...I've only been a few times.  So far this year there is no gobbling activity...I mean none.  Am I right in thinking this is because there are still so many un-bred hens that they don't have to do any gobbling?  My thinking is that as the hens become fewer and farther between they'll have to become more vocal and the competition will heat up.  Please let me know if I'm way off base on that.

Secondly, I had a hen come in to my calling one morning.  She pitched out of a tree nearby, sounding very much like a cinder block with wings, then made her way to the field I was on.  She stayed for about half an hour, walking right up to my decoys and hanging out around them.  She was just 20 yards from me most of that time.  Ultimately she got right up in front of the hen decoy I had out, looked at it for about 20 seconds, decided she didn't like it, and walked off the way she came in.  She didn't run...just walked and kept on walking until she was out of sight.  Is that normal? 

thx

Bob

yes, that's normal hen behavior, the lack of gobbling can be frustrating but not unusual.  Be patient.

Longshot

Are you hunting public or private land? Gobblers tend to get pretty tight lipped when they get pressured. I seem to do better in the second half of the season when there are fewer hunters in the woods and fewer willing hens around. I have killed most of my birds later in the mid-day hours when the hens have left the toms to go nest. It can be magic from 11:00-3:30 or so (if you can legally hunt them in the afternoon).

I have had hens do the same thing to my decoys many times. You are doing very well to stay hidden from a turkey only 20 yards away for that long. Stay after them. You will get one that wants to play.