Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Where oh where do the turkeys roam?

Started by tapiot, December 25, 2013, 11:42:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tapiot

I am new to turkey hunting. Hoping I can snag a partner by spring.
Meanwhile, I need to start looking around.

Possibly be hunting on private land, lots of cleared spots that are getting overgrown bordered by hardwood stands.
I've seen turkeys in similar type area that would wander out into the clear area...

How do I start scouting? Go out with a crow call and give a caw, see where I get a response at?
There is a considerable amount of acreage...would prefer to know where birds are at in time for season as well as set up
a small, portable blind that I could set up prior so things would get used to something new in the neighborhood.

Clueless at this point...digging into everything I can find...

Thanks!
Tim T.

jblackburn

The best would be to get out in the woods and scout, scout, scout!  Glass fields for birds as spring nears, be out at daylight to listen for gobbling and find out where they like to travel.  Set up game cams if you have them, they are a good tool.  Knowing the property and where the birds prefer to be is the best thing you can do.

The crow call (or owl/coyote/any other locator) can help you "shock" a gobble out of a tom as spring gets near, but until then they are basically just noise makers, although, there is a chance that a boss hen may cutt at the sound, but there is not much guarantee in that.
Gooserbat Games Calls Staff Member

www.gooserbatcalls.com

Genesis 27:3 - Now then, get your weapons—your quiver and bow—and go out to the open country to hunt some wild game for me.

tapiot

Thanks! Will be out there as soon as I can...
Tim T.

shadetree callers