OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

First Solo NC Turkey Season

Started by TurkeyPhanatic, June 13, 2013, 10:49:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

TurkeyPhanatic

I've been following the site since March but this is my first time posting.  I've hunted turkeys since 2005 with friends of mine but this is the first season I've gotten after them by myself.  Prior to the season opening I secured exclusive rights to a 100 acre property.  During my scouting trips I found a few tracks in the agriculature field on the property but did not locate as much sign as i would have liked.  The few mornings i went to listen for gobbling prior to the season opening did not yield any more promising results as I heard zero gobbles.  Nonetheless, I decided to hunt the property on the opener as I had paid for the exclusive rights.  I even declined an invitation to a buddy's farm that has been historically productive.  I had set up a double bull blind on the agriculture field in the area that the land owner had seen the turkeys frequent the most so that I would have it as an option in case the birds weren't vocal opening morning.  I arrived at the property and was set up in the blind at 5:30 and didn't hear a single gobble all morning.  I elected to sit tight and call every fifteen minutes or so on my crystal mistress call as I felt it was a good spot and some birds may filter in the field or respond to my calling.  At around 9am I heard some hens calling and scratching in the woods behind my blind.  A few minutes later they walked right past my blind and into the field.  At the same time I heard a gobbler strutting directly behind my blind.  He eventually followed the hens into the field but then headed directly to my DSD Jake Decoy and proceeded to flog it.  I harvested the bird with one shot of hevi-shot 3.5" magnum blend from my Mossberg 835 Ulti Mag o