turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

New turkey gun!!

Started by dawgfrombama, June 02, 2013, 11:18:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dawgfrombama

Finally getting my new gun together.  I've been using a Browning BPS NWTF model since 2005.  I absolutely love this gun.  Over the last year I really starting to notice some "battle scars".  Some of the camo finish has come off the edges so I decided to get a new gun and hunt with both.  The BPS is just to nice for me to let it run down. 

I really wanted a Win. 1300 NWTF gun that was made in the late 80' s early 90's.  I've looked and cannot find one.  I really like all those "old school" turkey guns of the 80's and 90's that had wood stocks and short barrels.  Don't know why but I do.  So I decided if I couldn't find one, I would build one.

For the last several months every time I went to the local gun shops or Bass Pro etc., I would look at Remington 870's.  I could just never come off the cash and buy one.  The other day I was in Walmart with my son in the sporting good section, and noticed one in the gun case.  I initially said I'm not buying a gun from Walmart. Then I noticed the price of $289 and said "to heck with it" and bought it.  Then I found a turkey barrel online.  Not sure if it would fit the 870 express because it has a 3.5 in chamber,  I called Remington and was told it would fit all 870 receivers.  I ordered it and when it arrived, right on the package it listed all the recievers it would fit. 

The barrel fit perfect and has a Rem Hevi Shot choke in it. I will most likely get a Jelly Head if I cant get a good pattern with the factory choke.  I just have to order swivels and a sling and I'm good to go.  Cant wait till March/April of 2014.

tomstopper

Nice. Right up until this year all I used was my Win. 1300 ( not the NWTF version though). I kinda felt guilty for not using it this year...

davisd9