OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Favorite Striker for Slate

Started by cntrlPAlngbrds, March 07, 2013, 01:01:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cntrlPAlngbrds

What is your favorite type of striker (generally or specifically) for using on plain slate?

I have been using the primos triple 7 striker for several years, and want to see about getting something a little better.

REBELYELL

It hards to be a good hickory or purpleheart stick, but I also like dogwood, persminnon and black locust. I have an apitung striker on the way from Harold Fowler. He told me it sounded good on slate.

bornagain64

lightsoutcalls

The sound a given striker produces on a given surface will be different on pots made by different callmakers.  I had to read that twice to make sure I understood what I just said...

That said, recommendations are generalizations based on the experience of the contributor. 

I like osage, pecan (very similar to hickory), persimmon, padauk, canarywood, bubinga, rosewood, tulipwood, bocote...  There are lots of good sounding woods for strikers on slate.
Lights Out custom calls - what they're dying to hear!

paboxcall

Hard to beat soft purrs on slate.

I like walnut and osage personally.

:icon_thumright:
A quality paddle caller will most run itself.  It just needs someone to carry it around the woods. Yoder409
Over time...they come to learn how little air a good yelper actually requires. ChesterCopperpot

mudhen

One of the 5-6 I carry all the time  :)

I honestly don't have a favorite striker, they all sound different, especially with slate, so I own just a few strikers.

But given all the possible weather conditions, I like to have a laminated striker with me at all times....

mudhen
"Lighten' up Francis"  Sgt Hulka

Longbeardfever4ever