OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Sighting in a red dot question

Started by bpbowhunter, March 05, 2011, 09:52:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bpbowhunter

I just ordered a Bushnell TRS-25 for my Rem. 870 SM and have a few questions before I start the process of sighting it in. What would be the proper starting distance to start the sighting in process. 10, 15 or 20 yards? After I have it zero'd at this starting distance, do I go back to 40 yards or do you slowly move out in smaller increments? I'm really new to this whole red dot scope thing so any help will be greatly appreciated.

I thought there used to be a great thread on this subject, but I couldn't find it anywhere.

Again thanks for your input.

Brian

paladin

Start at 15 with big paper and cheap shells.
Shoot one  at a small aimpoint and mark the center of pattern.
If you have a vise, put the dot on the original aimpoint and adjust it until it is on the center of the pattern.
Move to 25 and repeat. You should not need any or much adjustment.
Move to 40 and use your turkey shells.
find the center of the pattern and adjust as needed.
I use a 10" plexiglass with a 3" center hole.
"have gun-will travel"

paladin

If you don't have a vise start at 20.
shoot, find center of pattern, measure inches to aimpoint, mutiply times 5 and adjust that number of moa

example  5 inches low at 20 yards.
5x5= 25 moa.
1 click is 1/4 moa so 4x25 clicks or 100 clicks.
some scopes may be 1/2 moa per click.
"have gun-will travel"

hookedspur

I do it bout the same my first shot will be close enough that what ever shells I'm using will just knock a hole in the paper where my dot or cross hair is.
CRUSADERS
2016-2017-2018-2019-2020- 2021
Six time Old Gobbler Contest Champions

turkeytromp