OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Winchester 1300

Started by danpsunurse, January 17, 2013, 05:02:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

danpsunurse

:gobble: Hi:
Maybe this has been posted, but I am new to old gobbler and have yet to browse around, so I am looking for some advice. 
I know we all try to get get the best pattern by setting up the right gun, right choke tube, with the right load.

So here is my setup.... :OGturkeyhead:  Winchester 1300 (NWTF) camo, 23" barrel , 12 gauge, Kick's extended choke (Gobblin Thunder, .655),  Federal Flight control, size #6.

Thought about getting a new load Federal heavyweight, Winchester Xtended or Hevi Shot? 
Also thought about buying the Hevi shot choke then get Hevi shot turkey load?

Anyone with great setup for the Winchester 1300 or any thoughts!   :thanks:

Dan  :newmascot:

Spring Creek Calls

I have  the same gun and choke tube you're shooting. My best load that is even and dense is Hevi 13 #7's. The .655 likes the small shot, no bigger than 6's. If you try the heavyweight Fed's, I'd try the 7's. Good luck with your patterning!
2014  SE Call Makers Short Box 2nd Place
2017  Buckeye Challenge Long Box 5th Place
2018  Mountain State Short Box 2nd Place
2019  Mountain State Short Box 1st Place
2019  NWTF Great Lakes Scratch Box 4th Place
2020 NWTF GNCC Amateur 5th Place Box
2021 Mountain State 3rd Place Short Box
2021 SE Callmakers 1st & 2nd Short Box
E-mail: gobblez@aol.com

allaboutshooting

Quote from: danpsunurse on January 17, 2013, 05:02:23 PM
:gobble: Hi:
Maybe this has been posted, but I am new to old gobbler and have yet to browse around, so I am looking for some advice. 
I know we all try to get get the best pattern by setting up the right gun, right choke tube, with the right load.