only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

DO YALL HUNT INSIDE WOODS WITH DECOYS

Started by GOBBLER CRAZY, December 08, 2012, 02:46:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GOBBLER CRAZY

??? DO YALL HUNT GOBBLERS INSIDE WOODS WITH DECOYS  ?? :newmascot:

dirt road ninja

Sometimes I do, most of the time I don't. When I do it's usually later in the day or nothing is talking. I will sit on them with dekes out and catch up on some sleep, maybe calling a few times an hour.

DMP

I rarely use a decoy whether in the woods or in a field.

Thebody

I am new to turkey hunting, but one on my worst experiences involved a decoy in my second year.  I called in a good bird during a hunt at Eglin AFB in Florida.  I heard several gobblers that morning, all with hens and hard to work, I tried cutting them off, but there is soo much open woods (due to controlled burns) it was real hard to move.  I finally decided to set up and wait for a gobbler to come looking after his hens left him.  I sat up in some palmetto bushes with my back to a small Black Jack Oak. 

I set up a jake decoy over a hen in front of the thicket and called every 20 minutes or so for 2 hours (8-10).  Finally I had called in my first gobbler....75 yards and on a rope.  All I was doing was a couple of clucks and scratching leaves and GOOOOOBBBBLLLE.  He was coming in quick and I was beaded in on my decoys.  As soon as he came around the palmettos and saw the decoy he putted and left.  I wanted to quit!  Heartbroken does no justice to how I felt.  I swore off decoys till last year (2 years after heartbreak) when I was hunting a field.  I had three come running accross the field for the hen decoys. 

My take away is that them things don't like surprises.  Or that gobbler had probably been whipped some and didn't want anymore.  I just don't use them anymore unless all else is failing.
Everyone has a plan 'till they get punched in the mouth.  Mike Tyson