OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

new york guys....

Started by tomtaker123, May 01, 2012, 09:34:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tomtaker123

so this is going to sound kind of dumb but im still kinda new to this so here it is. what phase of the breeding season is upstate new york in? they seemed pretty slow today but that could be weather. also, is it to early/late right now to use a strutter? and if so, what decoys would you use in this phase of the season?

,apreciate any advice
                                                                                                      thanks
"speak the language"

TauntoHawk

What part of up state you from?

The hens are laying eggs right now, they are still roosting in trees and spending some time with the gobblers in the a.m. but then leaving them to go to the nest. Unfortunately I don't live in NY but simply do the bulk of my turkey hunting there, I won't be back until Friday evening but I was up for youth season. The reports I heard from yesterday was a slower morning because of weather but they were a good bit more fiery this morning. In my experience strutter decoys work best on birds that are grouped up, like several Toms together. When using decoys I generally use hen and Jake decoys far more often than a strutting one. I do think the birds will start grouping again soon as the hens move into the nesting stage and spending most of their time sitting on the nest. The jake/hen combo was working well during youth season I know that.

I'm hunting Greene County by the way.
<blockquote class="imgur-embed-pub" lang="en" data-id="l4hWuQU"><a href="//imgur.com/l4hWuQU"></a></blockquote><script async src="//s.imgur.com/min/embed.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

mikes