OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Would you recommend this to a complete novice??

Started by mightyjoeyoung, February 28, 2012, 03:45:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mightyjoeyoung

First let me say thank you to VAHUNTER for posting up the most excellent and informative tutorial for pollishing your turkey slayer's barrel!  It made quite the difference even for this guy.  I like to think I am an accomplished hunter/tinkerer and this process really improved my turkey hunting in both patterning more loads well and some loads incredibly well to just making my guns easier to clean!  Here in lies my queery...

As well as VAHUNTER'S process works, I would consider it a project the litterally any one with even a small degree of mechanical ability could do.  Would you folks think that a complete novice, with an unknown level of mechanical inclination, would be well served to use something like a power drill mounted, bore polishing mandrel system, utilizing multiple grit stones to pollish/hone a barerel?  My take is this...a pollishing mandrel stone, even of fairly high grit, can quickly become a reamer and ruin a barrel if left to spin in the same spot for even a few seconds or without proper lubrication.  What do you guys say?  And thanks for your opinions on the matter in advance.
Big Al's "Take-em" Style Silhouette decoys Pro-Staff.

Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind te most.

jakesdad