turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Hello from middle TN

Started by yankeedeerslayer, February 25, 2012, 09:53:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

yankeedeerslayer

Hello all. My name is Ed and I joined OG a while ago and have been lurking for a while and have decided to take a more active roll on the forum. I'm currently 40 and live in Woodlawn, TN near Clarksville. It's in the north middle part of the state. I was stationed here at Ft Campbell, KY and when I got out of the Army I decided to stay local. I live near the TN/KY border and hunt in both states. I'm a dad and my boys are active hunters and I try my best to be the best mentor I possibly can. Something I was regrettably lacking when I was growing up. Even though I've hunted turkey for about 7 years I am still a rookie and learning stuff all the time.

This year I am setting a goal to get all the boys (3 of them ages 6, 8 and 9) shots at turkey. At least get one to strut and gobble in front of them. Being young boys when they started chasing birds with me it was very trying getting them to keep up and sit still and be quiet. Each when it was supposed to be done. Only once was one with me when I closed the deal on a bird and I can assure you he is hooked and his brothers are not far behind.