turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

If you only took one decoy?

Started by Bluesman, April 16, 2023, 12:32:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bluesman

I'm new to this.  I have two Avian X. A lookout hen and a Jake.   I'm tired of lugging two decoys around.  I'm 68 yo and between my chair, the gun and a decoy bag, and all the crap in my vest, I feel like a pack mule.  So I'm ditching the chair, and going with the  pad on my Primos vest and I feel like I need to ditch a decoy.  I did manage to kill a Jake.  The second turkey in my life. What decoy should I ditch? What say you? 

WildTigerTrout

I travel light and hunt woods. I very seldom hunt near any fields so I don't carry any decoys.  I make every effort to set up in such a way that when I see the gobbler he is in range.   In your case I would keep the hen and ditch the jake.
Deer see you and think you are a stump. The Old Gobbler sees a stump and thinks it is YOU!

davisd9

What are you hunting? Fields? Woods? How do you hunt? Move a lot? Sit in one spot?
"A turkey hen speaks when she needs to speak, and says what she needs to say, when she needs to say it. So every word a turkey speaks is for a reason." - Rev Zach Farmer

2eagles

I've got AvianX lookout hen, AvianX feeder hen and AvianX jake. I need to go light because I had total knee replacement 3 weeks ago. If I take a decoy, it will be my lookout hen.

Gooserbat

I don't use decoys 95% off the time and I kill plenty of birds. I only will use one if I'm hunting a field edge for a long set. Otherwise I go light and fast.
NWTF Booth 1623
One of my personal current interests is nest predators and how a majority of hunters, where legal bait to the extent of chumming coons.  However once they get the predators concentrated they don't control them.

Notsoyoungturk