OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

The Old Days are gone, at least for now….

Started by Tom007, March 03, 2023, 11:41:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tom007

I starting hunting Turkey in the early 80's. The game was relatively new, no commercial camo, no TSS, fixed chokes, you get the picture. Late 80's, through the 90's, birds were plentiful. Mess up on one, walk a few hundred yards, strike up another. Fast forward to today, it's tough all over. I am not getting into why, lord knows all the threads lately are trying to determine this. I am by no means an expert Turkey hunter, in fact I will never be. One thing I can be sure of is I enjoy everything about it, including this great Forum. I have decided to accept the fact that this sport is now a real battle with not only nature and a diminishing resource, but a competition  between all of us in sharing the woods we chose to do battle in. It's like "survival of the fittest", the weak will give up, the strong will chose to stay in the game and adapt. I confess that the birds are much tougher to harvest, but I am ok with this. It's what it is. Harvesting a mature Tom now to me is way more rewarding than it was 20 years ago. I have become very humble now regarding Turkey hunting. We all have now joined, but in my opinion taken a back seat in the predator chain of the Wild Turkey, in fact we are ALL competing for this precious resource. Couple this with everything else we see in our threads, times have changed. I have accepted this, and will "motor on" with my favorite passion. Just thought I'd share my views here. Be safe, enjoy your season!

Gooserbat