turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

DIY jig?

Started by Bwhntr68, February 20, 2022, 10:12:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bwhntr68

Just received my first order of mouth calls supplies and managed to make a couple decent sounding calls, but I can already tell getting a consistent side tension is going to be difficult doing this by hand. Anyone here come up with a DIY jig to help with this?

GobbleNut

Somewhere in the back pages of the forum, I believe there are a few examples of DIY jigs.  You might also find something on YouTube,...haven't checked it myself. 
Here are some personal observations,...you can take them or leave them...   :)
I have been making mouth calls for a couple of decades now.  I started out using a jig but abandoned it years ago due to the limitations I found it had.  Now, I stretch everything by hand, including stretching the individual reeds in the call separately,...which, unless I am mistaken, cannot be done with a press or jig (perhaps someone has developed something that will allow you to do that,...I don't know for sure) 

Over time, I have found that, even though I cannot get the exact same stretch in every reed, I can mostly overcome that with adjustments in the cuts put in the reeds. Other factors being equal, in my opinion the cuts are the most important variable.  I also do a lot of experimenting with all of the factors associated with mouth call making...reed numbers, reed thickness and color, reed off-set, and reed stretch (both laterally as well as front and back).  All of those factors make a difference,...and very minute changes in any of them impact the sound of the call.