OG shop member gallery
OldGobbler
          bullet Forum Board      bullet Pushpin Turkey Call Blog      bullet Advertising Info     

OG Gear Store
PATCHES

Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Author Topic: How far away was that gobble?  (Read 3035 times)

Offline knokeb

How far away was that gobble?
« on: May 11, 2021, 03:45:17 PM »
This is my first year hunting turkeys and I have a million questions in my head about it (whether I’m out hunting or not), but here’s one: how do you know how far away a gobble is coming from? I hunt in an area that’s a mix of woods and meadow, bottoms and ridges. When I’m hearing gobbles I just can’t decide if it’s close-ish by, or 500 yards away and bouncing around in the canyon. My buddy and I have tried to split up and night to triangulate gobbles on the roost, but we come up with wildly different guesses as to how far off the birds might be.

I’m guessing i just need to log more hours and it’ll come with experience, but any tips would be appreciated. Much thanks.

Offline ChesterCopperpot

• 2024 SITE SUPPORTER
  • Double Beard
Re: How far away was that gobble?
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2021, 04:27:26 PM »
You’ll learn to judge distance more accurately as time goes on, but the big thing for you to remember is that as season goes on and the woods green up they’re almost always closer than you think. Got on a good bird the other day with my wife and she thought he was a good ways off. I told her with all these leaves he’s likely closer than you imagine and he wasn’t far at all. Sounded 150 and was more like 75.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline silvestris

• Longbeard
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2021, 06:19:25 PM »
Foliage is a factor.  Is he facing you or facing away from you?  Is he hollering or whispering?  How is your hearing?  If he answers your call, he may come.