News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Nebraska/Slam Questions

Started by Phattkopp, January 01, 2021, 07:23:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Phattkopp

Hello folks,
I "lurk" on this board quite a bit, but post rarely. That being said, my boss wants to take a grand slam, and has asked me to tag along. I was like, "HECK YEAH!!" We're looking at Heritage Outfitters in Nebraska. I'd appreciate this board's thoughts and input on Merriams, Rios, and hybrids that they post on their webpage. I am not a greenhorn to turkey hunting, but I am new to paying someone for turkeys. I know here in Florida once you cross the state line there are outfitters charging A LOT to kill what they say is an Osceola. I'm not bashing anyone, just hoping for some turkey advice. Thank you for any input.

Phattso  ;)

GobbleNut

I suspect there are places in Nebraska that you can kill pure specimens of either the Merriam's or Rio Grande subspecies.  However, anyplace that the two have been in close contact for more than a few generations, it is likely that all of the turkeys in that area are hybrids, regardless of their outward appearance. 

Folks make the assumption that, if a gobbler has light tips on the tail fan, it is a Merriam's,...and conversely, if it has buff tips on the fan, it must be a Rio.  Not at all true!  There are wide variations in that coloration in pure specimens of both subspecies,...but especially in Merriam's.

I have killed a lot of specimens of either subspecies from the hearts of their native ranges and I can tell you that they have vastly different appearances,...but those differences are in the feather iridescence, not the whiteness or buff-ness.  Rios have a distinctive copper/gold iridescence that true Merriam's do not have,...and that iridescence is most obviously seen in the rump feathers.