OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

How Best to Handle a Bird for Full Body Mount?

Started by Turkeytider, December 28, 2020, 11:39:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Turkeytider

Guys, if I were fortunate enough to harvest a bird that was truly worthy ( big, super beard, great fan, etc.), I have no idea how to properly care for it before getting it to a taxidermist. Not like you can slip it into the above refrigerator freezer in the kitchen! Would someone be so kind as to tell me OR refer me to something I might read? Thanks much, and happy holidays!!

eggshell

I am no expert, but I did take a taxidermy course in college. Other than doing a few of my own birds I never done anything else with the knowledge. For what it is worth, here is my opinion:

Get a cheese cloth meat bag, like you would put quarters in or some stretchy material to put the bird in. Have plenty of paper towels and rap the head and neck with them to catch blood. Then slip the whole bird in the meat bag head first and keeping the feathers laid flat and natural. Then pull the bag tight over the bird and tie it off. After that carry him out in a vest or how ever you want. After typing this I thought of something. I used to carry a piece of panty hose to slip pheasants or other birds in to keep them in good shape. I bet something bigger like stretchy yoga pants would work just fine for a gobbler.

Ctrize

Eggshell covers most of it. Some guys suggest supporting the tail feathers with cardboard. Be sure to pull innards to start cooling If your taxidermist is close they can skin and still save the meat.

Greg Massey