OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Yelping on a trumpet

Started by Southerngobbler, July 10, 2019, 05:14:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Southerngobbler

I'm very new to playing a trumpet and have a question on getting started. When trying to yelp is each yelp two different intakes of air, one intake of air per yelp or one longer continuous intake of air for multiple yelps with each individual yelp being formed by cupping or uncupping your hands.

Rapscallion Vermilion

One very soft, not enough to breath with, draw of air per yelp

paboxcall

This thread should answer a lot of your questions about technique. Its three pages long, worth your time to give it a very close and careful read.

http://oldgobbler.com/Forum/index.php/topic,91179.0.html
"A quality paddle caller will most run itself.  It just needs someone to carry it around the woods." Yoder409
"Sit down wrong, and you're beat." Jim Spencer
Don't go this year where youtubers went last year.
"It is a fallacy...that turkeys can see through rocks. Only Superman can do that. Instead turkeys see around them."Jim Spencer

davisd9

As stated it is a single drawing of air.  If you feel like you are out of breath then you are drawing too hard. It takes a lot less air to run than you would think.  Draw air through your throat like you are drinking from a straw. Lip stop positioning is important for your seal and draw.  Good luck!
"A turkey hen speaks when she needs to speak, and says what she needs to say, when she needs to say it. So every word a turkey speaks is for a reason." - Rev Zach Farmer

Sir-diealot