turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

A little help please

Started by 6shot, April 18, 2016, 06:42:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

6shot

I guess I'm the newest member here and I will start by saying hello . Now for my question - I am really new to turkey hunting and I need some advice on a particular gobbler that I have been after now for over a week . I know almost the exact tree he roosts in and he has been there for two weeks now . He gobbles his head off every morning until he flies down and then goes silent . He is actually roosting just across the fence on another property that I don't have permission to hunt on . It is steep ground and the fence runs the ridgeline . I have set up above , below , and around the holler on the next ridge but its always the same . He just shuts up as soon as it gets good and light . This may be a fairly common case but like I said , this is all pretty new to me so any suggestions will be much appreciated . Thanks

Happy

More than likely he has hens. Once a Tom has hens they are generally pretty tight lipped. My first approach would be to wait him out. Hens typically start leaving to lay an egg later on in the morning and your odds of catching him in a lonely state of mind are better. Can always try and call the hens in also. That's a hit or miss proposition but works enough to try it. If you can hunt all day set up on his route back to roost if you have access to the land he travels. Those are a few options I would try. Good luck.

Good-Looking and Platinum member of the Elitist Club

Happy

And by the way welcome to Old Gobbler.

Good-Looking and Platinum member of the Elitist Club

SteelerFan

Do you ever see or hear him fly down? Are there hens with him? Hens nearby is usually the cause of going silent, in my experience. Sounds like he is staying on the other property? Has he ever answered a call?