turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

a lot of signs no response

Started by FLORIDA BOI, March 25, 2015, 04:18:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

FLORIDA BOI

First off I have learned so much just lurking on the site this is my first year turkey hunting . I'm hunting public I found a place I thought would have birds first day sure enough I find prints and actually  spooked 1 walking in. Next morning I take a more seasoned guy with me we set up early before light and we don't hear a thing . We move spots to one of his spots once again on the way there we see a bird on the middle of the road we tried to set up on him but no response.  We moved around saw a lot of signs and tracks no gobbling.  We head back to the truck and there a turkey right by the damn truck as we are about 100 yards away  ::). So what's my next move when I find tracks how do I know if it's worth hunting .

Spitten and drummen

got to be persistent and patient. just because you do not hear them does not mean they are not there. its just turkeys being turkeys.
" RANGERS LEAD THE WAY"
"QUEEN OF BATTLE FOLLOW ME " ~ INFANTRY
"DEATH FROM ABOVE " ~ AIRBORNE

Bowguy

Spitten n drummin is correct. Be patient n one day they'll go nuts. Next year though before the season drive the area listening for birds. This way you instantly have alternate spots. Always one hot bird somewhere

FLORIDA BOI

Thanks guys will do . I saw the bird that I spooked flew off into the bottom of a creek I found away to get into that side tommorrow I'm gonna check it out . Thanks for the help .

NJstrutter

If theres sign and tracks they're there. I've only been hunting 8 yrs, but one thing I've learned (especially on public land) is that they may be gobbling like crazy on Monday and then Tuesday you don't hear a sound. Then on Wednesday there back at it, gobbling all around you.

dejake